From the Office of John Suchy
Director, Liquor Control Division
July 1, 2019
Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine
Public Act 19-24, Section 26 creates the “Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine” with an effective date of July 1, 2019.
- The Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine allows the sale and shipment of wine only directly to a consumer in this state. Persons accepting deliveries must be at least 21 years of age and must sign for the wine.
- The credential prefix is LOR.
- The permit application for the Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine is available to download at the DCP website: https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Liquor-Control-Division/Liquor-Permit-Applications-and-Forms
- The initial non-refundable application fee is $100.00 and the initial permit fee is $600.00. The first year cost is $700.00. The permit is renewed annually for $600.00. Checks and/or money orders need to be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”.
- The Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine application may not be filed online at this time.
- No placarding or newspaper publishing requirement; no recording of permit required unless home state requires it.
- All wine brand labels being shipped or delivered to consumers in this state must be registered with DCP.
- For searching brands, you can go to the online lookup website: https://www.elicense.ct.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx and for registering brands, the Liquor Brand Label registration webpage: https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/Liquor-Control-Division/Liquor-Brand-Label-Registration
- DCP IT is working on creating a more consumer-friendly webpage for easy product location.
- Out-of- State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine must be registered to conduct business in the State of Connecticut (Certificate of Authority from the state Secretary of the State) and provide such proof.
- Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine must be registered with the state Department of Revenue Services (DRS) and provide such proof. See Instruction Sheet on Application.
- If the holder of the Out-of-State Retailer Shipper’s Permit for Wine” wishes to make its own deliveries, then it must obtain an In-State Transporter’s Permit. If it does not wish to transport its product, it must use a business entity which has an In-State Transporter’s permit (section 30-19f) issued by DCP.
- May not ship more than five (5) gallons of wine in any two-month period to any person in this state
- The holder of this permit, when advertising or offering wine for direct wine shipment to a consumer in this state via the Internet or any other on-line computer network shall clearly and conspicuously state such liquor permit number in its advertising.
If you have any questions about this or any other liquor-related matter, please call (860) 713-6210 and speak with an agent on duty, or visit firstname.lastname@example.org.
John J. Suchy, Director of the Liquor Control Division
The Department of Consumer Protection, through the State Liquor Control Commission, oversees all sales of liquor in the State of Connecticut. 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, Connecticut 06106-1630, Liquor Control Division website www.ct.gov/dcp